Do you wash your hands before or after you pee?

According to the post on The Huffington Post, nearly ten percent of toilet users do not wash their hands after they pee. In that ten percent, eighty percent came from men. Seventy percent says they rinse but without soap and the common reason is that they feel it isn’t necessary, or they feel that water is good enough.

As a parent, since C is able to pee on his own, we tell him that he needs to wash his hands after he pees. Back when he was younger, we used to use the PECS system and ordinal numbers to teach him the steps after  he pees. It was a Sunday evening and I was preparing dinner while C was watching television in the living room.

Suddenly, C runs into the kitchen where the common bathroom is, and says he needed to 小便 (‘xiao bian’ meaning ‘pee’). I said out loud, do wash your hands.

So, as all listeners will know, if one do not watch one in action, what we would generally hear is the sound of pee followed by the sound of flush, and finally, the sound of hands washing. But this time, I heard the sound of hands washing, followed by sound of pee and sound of flush. I was puzzled. I walked over and asked C.

C, what are you doing?

Mummy, I pee-ed.

C, did you wash your hands?

Yes. I washed my hands. 

Did you wash your hands after you pee-ed?

What?

Did you wash your hands after you pee-ed or before you pee-ed?

I did everything!!!! (aarrrggghhhh….) I wash my hands, I pee-ed, I got flush

I know C, I mean, did you wash your hands after you pee-ed?

I washed my hands first, then I pee-ed and flushed.

C, why did you do that?

What? You say must wash hands right?

(laughing) yes, but I mean wash your hands after you pee.

(aaaarrrgghhh…) why you say so many things?

okay. okay. I’m sorry. I didn’t make it clear. Wash your hands after you pee.

C proceeded to wash his hands again. I thought this episode was hilarious. It has also taught me to be more precise in my instructions to him. As I am typing this, I am reminded that we seem to have many toilet episodes… life of motherhood… hahaha

Have an awesome week ahead readers!

How to toilet train our kids with autism

If you’re facing the same issue with your child, hope the above resources are able to help you.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Do you wash your hands before or after you pee?

Leave a Reply

