OT the beauty way – Mummy’s little helper

My daily beauty routine
My daily beauty routine

Everyone knows the adage ‘Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder’. While I can agree to this saying, I also need to add that we need to do certain ‘works’ to maintain our beauty both inside and out. For busy working parents, this can be a time that we involve some occupational therapy (OT) with our kids the beauty way. Don’t believe me? Read on to see my explanation.

For those who know me, the one thing I cannot resist is beauty products. I love trying out new beauty products and I am a believer in a regimental routine for my face and body. I guess you can say showering and pampering my face is the time I feel is my time, a time where I can relax and enjoy the process, and to wind down from the day’s work and duties. It just so happens that my winding down time is also close to C’s sleeping time. Recently, even as I shower, he would knock on the door asking for me to read to him. On this one occasion, I had just stepped out of the shower and he has already started knocking on the door. I decided then, to have him help me out, and through this occasion, I realised that we can actually have some mother and son bonding time and work on his OT at the same time due to the range of products that I have. Below is a list on what I have and love:

My daily beauty routine
Left to right:
  1. Tatcha Ageless Revitalizing Eye Cream – Travel size
  2. Nivea Hydro Care Lip Balm SPF 15
  3. Paula’s Choice Hydralight Toner
  4. Missha Night Repair Science Activator Ampoule
  5. Sum37 Secret Programming Essence
  6. Tatcha Moisture Rich Silk Cream
  7. The Skin Pharmacy The Acne Care Gel

How can we do OT with these products in the order that I use them?

  1. Paula’s Choice Hydralight Toner – C will need to get a cotton pad for me which I keep in an empty ear bud container. After taking one piece out, he will open the screw-cover of the bottle, use one hand to hold the bottle and the other, the cotton pad. I use this time to tell him one time is enough (meaning he only needs to tilt the bottle upside down once, so that the right amount of toner is released from the bottle.
  2. Missha Night Repair Science Activator Ampoule – This Ampoule comes in the form of a dropper which is excellent to train our kid’s pincer grip. During the first few tries, he kept squeezing the head of the dropper and releasing the liquid back into the bottle or at times, onto the table. Sometimes, he would squeeze too much ampoule on my palm. It takes quite a few sessions but I think it is useful in letting our kids see and feel their strength using the dropper.
  3. Sum 37 Secret Programming Essence6Sum37 Secret Programming Essence – The essence comes in a glass bottle. Before using it, I ask C to hold the Paula Choice’s toner and tell him that this is made of plastic. Then, I would get him to hold the essence bottle and tell him that it is made of glass. For the first few times, I repeated this process till C could tell me plastic and glass. Next, I moved on to heavy and light. Finally, we followed up with we need to be careful with the essence bottle as it is made of glass and might break. I took both bottles and knock them gently, one by one, on the side of the basin to illustrate my point. This bottle has a pin hole opening. Thus, it takes a firm grip for his tiny hands and a good shake for one drop of essence to come out of the bottle. Again, this took many tries and hand-holding before C can confidently do it on his own and pour on my hand.
  4. Tatcha Ageless Revitalizing Eye Cream – Travel size – I love this part of the routine. Before, I needed to use my pinky nail to scrape some of the eye cream out of the cream pot but with C, he is made for this step. He would use his index finger, dip into the pot, and apply the cream on my eyes. Downfall, the eye cream is really expensive. During the first few tries, he dipped his entire finger in, which I consider unhygienic. But how can I get angry with that cute little face? When he got the hang of it, I actually love feeling his tiny finger circling my eyes. I don’t know why. It feels good and he would always be giggling too.
  5. Tatcha Moisture Rich Silk Cream – The Tatcha cream comes with a golden spoon and to secure the spoon, you will tie it down using the two purple cloth. When we first started out with this step, C only used the golden spoon to scoop out a pearl-sized cream for me. As he gains mastery on this step, instead of stirring the contents of my cream, I showed him how to tie the spoon to the purple cloth. Till now, he still needs me to hold the spoon for him but I think it is the ability to cross tie the cloth together that’s important.
  6. The Skin Pharmacy The Acne Care Gel – this is the second last step and interestingly, this is the product we tend to waste quite a bit. This bottle is the press-down sprout type. I ended up having a smaller container to put the excess gel. Since this is an acne care gel, I would often only need half a pea size. However whenever C presses the bottle, he would give it a full press which has enough gel to fill my entire face. After a few tries, I ended up using a smaller container to put in the excess gel and we would use it until it is finished, then move on to the press-bottle.
  7. Nivea Hydro Care Lip Balm – As with most Lip care stick, it comes with a cover and to use, we would twist the balm-stick out. I would need to teach C to not twist the entire stick out and in applying the balm for me, to not press too hard and end up feeding my teeth with the balm.

Finally, after step 7, we will proceed to the bedroom whereby C will select his three storybooks for his night time reading.

I know this might seem like a crazy idea but I have been doing it for a few months with C and I love it. I do believe he is working on his OT while being my faithful little helper.

One thing to note before deciding on whether to engage in ‘OT the beauty way’ is that what would normally take you 15 minutes will now take you AT LEAST 30 minutes. So, leave this for a time, where both your kids and you are not in a rush, so that both of you can enjoy this winding down and ‘working’ session together. 🙂

One thought on “OT the beauty way – Mummy’s little helper

Leave a Reply

