Ways to appease our child whose in pain

Ever felt hopeless as a parent when you see your child in pain and there’s nothing much you can do?

C was involved in a minor incident two days ago. Here are a few things I did to cheer him up:

C has to be in bandage for three days after the minor incident. He keeps crying for bandage to be removed. To make him happy, I drew his current favourite character on the bandage.
C has to be in bandage for three days after the minor incident. He keeps crying for bandage to be removed. To make him happy, I drew his current favourite character on the bandage. That bought laughter to his grouchy and teary self due to the pain from the wound.
We made chocolate coated grapes on lollipop sticks. He loved this activity as he loves chocolate!
We made chocolate coated grapes on lollipop sticks. He loved this activity as he loves chocolate!
C laughs whenever I say 'lah'. I took this photo and showed him at times when he's grouchy. I'll add every word with a 'lah' and that makes him giggle .
C laughs whenever I say ‘lah’. I took this photo and showed him at times when he’s grouchy. I’ll add every word with a ‘lah’ and that makes him giggle .

Lastly, I allowed him to play iPad and watch tv. I didn’t apply the 20minutes rule as I know he is in constant pain which worsens when the painkillers wears off.

I hope there’ll be good news when we see the doctor in three days and the orthopedic in ten. And I pray this is an experience no parents have to go through.

Leave a Reply

