C’s Favourite Titles for the Month of September 2015

We’ve been reading quite a fair bit this month as we bought the Kinder Science Adventure Series, thus apart from the daily night readings, C still has to read the Kinder books everyday. I have also bought a few Mandarin books to ensure that he doesn’t lose interest in Mandarin.

Jpeg
C’s favourite titles for this month.

As usual, to train his ability to answer ‘What’ and “Why’ questions, I asked C what he liked about each book.

First: It Could Have Been Worse by Benjamin A.H. (Local library code: Junior Lending Section, BEN-Bil; Purchase link from Amazon

I bought this book from a local book fair for S$10 I think. I started to search for such books after viewing the video from Ted on a fellow adult with autism, Chris Varney (You can find the link to the video by clicking on his name to my blog entry), whereby he spoke about how his mother always took to finding books about overcoming adversity for him when he was a child. I thought it was an excellent idea, thus began  my borrowing/spending spree on books which I think will spur C on.

A sample page from the book on the flow of the story.
A sample page from the book on the flow of the story.
A sample page from the book on the flow of the story.
A sample page from the book on the flow of the story.

Mummy’s review: The book is about a mouse’s journey way home when he loses his balance and falls into his ground, and throughout the book, he will meet with a lot of mishaps. It is easy to read with repeated phrases and action sounds which makes it interesting for parents to read along with the child and make those noises. What I love about the book is how the mouse does not realise the little’ mishaps that he meets along the way actually helps him escape from bigger dangers. I think it is a good book for parents to read to their kids and tell them that sometimes things are not as it seems. For example, in the cartoon, ‘Inside Out’, a memory can be made up of joy and sadness, and it is still a worthy memory to be stored as part of the core memory. (By the way, we succeeded in our first movie outing with C, and I loved this cartoon-movie by Pixar!)

C’s reason on why he likes the book:

I like the “Splash, crash, wheeeeeeeee!”

Second: Chuggington Sing and Learn Numbers, Shapes and Colours with Koko, Brewster and Wilson (Local library code: Not Available; Purchase link from Amazon

Sample page from inside the book.
Sample page from inside the book.

Mummy’s review: This is a rather simple book about learning shapes, colours and numbers. I actually bought this during a pre-loved book fair with two other books under the pile of three for $10. C wanted to buy it. He really loved to press the /sound/ button. Sadly, the sound “died” within two weeks. Good way to use this book if you have the trains is to get your child to recognise the train characters. C is into Chugginton nowadays. With the sound dying so quickly, I have to admit I am happy it was only S$3.33.

C’s reason on why he likes the book:

I love Chugginton, Koko and Brewster. (singing) Chugga, chugga, chugga, chuggington. Chugginton. Chugga, chugga, chugga, chuggington. Chugginton.

Third: Count to a million by Jerry Pallotta (Local library code: Not available; Purchase link from Amazon)

Sample page from the book.
Sample page from the book.
Sample page from the book.
Sample page from the book.

Mummy’s review: Jerry tries to use grouping to teach children on how to count numbers. C does not understand the concepts in the book, however, that does not stop him from liking the book. He loves the page when they write about 1000 gumballs and how the following page writes about the ‘creatures’ that will eat them up. What I love about the book is the colourful pictures and illustrations and the ending.

The last page of the book. Beautiful ending to a lovely counting book.
The last page of the book. Beautiful ending to a lovely counting book.

This book started with one earth, the planet we live on. There is only one earth… …but look up int he sky on a clear night. There are millions of stars. Now you can count to one million, and perhaps beyond…

C’s reason on why he likes the book:

One, ten, one hundred, one thousand, ten thousand, one hundred thousand, one million

Fourth: Cultivating Good Behaviours and Habits by Qing Shao.net (http://www.qingshao.net/)

We bought five of these books at S$1.80 each.
We bought five of these books at S$1.80 each.
Sample pages from the book.
Sample pages from the book.

Mummy’s review: Having focused so much on teaching C the English Language, I feel and know that I have neglected teaching him his roots. Regardless, we are Chinese, and I think it is important for my child to learn about his roots and heritage. We bought these books from the local bookstore. There are five stories from each book and each story sticks to the theme of the book. This book is easier to read and understand as there is ‘hanyu pinyin’ located under each word, this is similar to the phonics we learn in English. At the end of each story, there is a short synopsis that sort of provides the gist of the story which parents could read to their kids. I really like the synopsis as it is short, sweet and to the point.

C’s reason on why he likes the book: 

To be honest, prefers English storybooks to Mandarin ones, thus I sort of make it mandatory to read one story per night before bedtime. So far, after about a month, it’s been good. He do not mind listening to it now and reading it to me though he would much prefer English ones still.

Fifth: If You Hopped Like A Frog by David M Schwartz (Local library code: English 513.2 SCH; Purchase link from Book Depository)

I bought this book at a second-hand book store at S$2.90.
I bought this book at a second-hand book store at S$2.90.
The best way to understand the book is through the author's preface. You get to learn about the ratio between insects/animals and human beings.
The best way to understand the book is through the author’s preface. You get to learn about the ratio between insects/animals and human beings.
This is C's favourite page. He loves speed and loves it when I use my finger to scurry down the field as though I am the spider. And without a doubt, he loves the last page.
This is C’s favourite page. He loves speed and loves it when I use my finger to scurry down the field as though I am the spider. And without a doubt, he loves the last page, and I do too…
It took us a few months for C to not mind me hugging to voluntarily giving me a hug. I love reading this book now, as I love the ending, whereby he will hug me on his own.
It took us a few months for C to not mind me hugging to voluntarily giving me a hug. I love reading this book now, as I love the ending, whereby he will hug me on his own.

Sixth: Five Minutes’ Peace by Jill Murphy (Local library code: English MUR[BA]; Purchase link from Book Depository)

Sample pages from the book.
Sample pages from the book.

Mummy’s review: Mrs Large, the elephant from the book, wants to have five minutes’ peace from her three elephants. This reminds me of how sometimes I need five minutes away from C. I use it to tell C that mum and dad can be tired sometimes and it is alright to give us a break.

C’s reason on why he likes the book: 

This is the last page of the book, and interestingly, it is C's favourite page. I will always blow the horn using my voice at this page and C will comment the youngest elephant being naked.
This is the last page of the book, and interestingly, it is C’s favourite page. I will always blow the horn using my voice at this page and C will comment the youngest elephant being naked.

too-toot-too-toot-too….giggles…. hahahha…. shame shame… never wear clothes…hahahaha…giggles….

I hope these reviews are useful for you. Do feel free to write to me if you require more shot of the in-pages and comments on the book before deciding whether to borrow or buy the book.

Read about C’s favourite titles for the month of August by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “C’s Favourite Titles for the Month of September 2015

Leave a Reply

