Teaching Alphabet Recognition

Before we want to ensure that our child is “ready” for formal reading instructions, I think it is important to know that they know the names of the letters and the sounds that it represents. Simply, if they do not understand that words are made up of sounds, they cannot learn to read. This is one of the most basic assessments that I do with my child, before I move on to teaching other things.

Teaching Alphabet Recognition_Upper

The first assessment is recognizing the uppercase letters. You may download the assessment here.

Teaching Alphabet Recognition_lower

The second is recognizing lower case letters. You may download the assessment here.

Teaching Alphabet Recognition_upper_lower

I use this third assessment to “assess” if my child really knows the upper and lower case letters as he has a good memory. I feel that sometimes he tends to say things by memory rather than the letter. You may download the assessment here.

I hope these assessments will be useful for those parents who are just starting out in teaching their child to learn to read.

Leave a Reply

