Word Association_I want to talk about… (Using Science Adventures Kinder Books)

Apart from using this book as a reading for pleasure or teaching of Science concept book, you can use it to teach your child word/phrase/sentence association.

There are twelve stories in each book.
There are nine stories/activities in this book.
  1. Animal Science: My tail has come off! (about lizards’ tail)
  2. Animal Tales: The Warm Polar Bear
  3. Our Body: Inside my head (about the brain)
  4. Why: Why does an elephant drink with its trunk?
  5. Science Smart: The Flat Battery
  6. Science Story: Who is the fastest? (About the hour, minute and second hand)
  7. Natural World: The Butterfly
  8. Test Your IQ Skills: Bricks puzzle
  9. Guessing Game: Whose Tail?

When C and I have completed reading a few stories in the book, I would conduct a word association with some of the stories.

Child is shown various topics/words to choose from.
Child is shown various topics/words to choose from.

Jpeg

Write the header: “I want to talk about” then fill it in when the child indicates what is the topic he or she wants to talk about. I use the hyphen to indicate the number of words/phrases/sentences I would want from C

Jpeg
I gave four hyphens as we read this story multiple times and I felt C would be able to give more more than the usual three, especially after we had a hands-on activity with this story.
Jpeg
C had difficulty recapping on this story even though he thought it was really funny.
This is one of the pages from the story about the brain. C kept wanting to hit me or have me hit him in the arm to pretend there is a mosquito on our arms.
This is one of the pages from the story about the brain. C kept wanting to hit me or have me hit him in the arm to pretend there is a mosquito on our arms. I think I read and re-read this page at least ten times before he allowed me to move on to another page.

Reflection

I think I have conveyed how much I love the Science Adventures Kinder Books! At around S$7 per book (six in a pack) with nine to 12 stories/activities in each book, I definitely think this is a good buy. You can purchase the book online via the link above or go to any Popular bookstore. Hope your child will find these books as interesting and be glued to it like mine! 😉

Leave a Reply

