Artsy tips for parents who are not so artsy like me: 6 simple tips to do at home

I’ve read many posts online which asserts that art is good for kids. I believe so too… I think art allows us to see things differently. I vividly remember my art teacher telling me “a picture tells a thousand words” and back then I thought she was a huge fan of Bread. If you’ve read my post on Progress report on C, we mentioned that we were going to sign C up for Art lesson. We did and I am glad he really likes the teacher and has really blossomed from it. Read on to find out his amazing progress and 6 simple tips that I have learnt to help parents who want to teach their kids at home.

Mommy's art lesson
Mommy’s art lesson – I coloured the yellow triangle, trees and orange sun. C coloured the rest.

Before lesson #1

You can see from the picture that whenever I used to get C to colour, he would colour out of the line despite me modelling for him. He would draw all over the page as well.

Art lesson #1
Art lesson #1

After lesson #1

I was really amazed by what he had created during the first lesson. I even asked the teacher if the entire drawing and painting was done by C. The teacher told me that they started out with stencil drawing, which means that the sun and boat from art lesson one was drawn by placing the stencil on the paper. It took C one hour to complete this drawing, colouring and painting which is B5 in size. I am really proud of him!

After four lessons, I decided to ask his teacher if he was willing to share his techniques with me. Awesome! He did!

PhotoGrid_1438859934602

Artsy tips for parents

  1. Start with stencils instead of getting the child to trace the shape.
  2. Divide huge colouring spaces into smaller parts.
    Divide huge colouring spaces into smaller parts. As you can see from the picture, I divided the butterfly’s body into three parts.
  3. Use crayons as the texture teaches the child to grip the crayon well, and it is actually easier to colour using crayons than colour pencils. (I did not do this at home as the cleaning up might kill me 😮 )
  4. Ensure that
    Ensure that one hand of the child’s is holding on to the paper, and the other is gripping the crayon or colouring pencil correctly. This helps with precision and the child will feel less tired as well.
  5. If there are spaces which the child does not colour, remind the child to fill in the 'White spaces'.
    If there are spaces which the child does not colour, remind the child to fill in the ‘White spaces’. The teacher says that this terminology is easy to understand.
  6. Use water colour to fill up the white spaces on the paper. This reinforces the notion that white spaces must be filled up. Once the child is more capable of this skill (to fill all the white spaces), we can move on to blending and other techniques. The use of water colour also presents another form of painting to the child.
C's completed picture.
C’s completed picture. This is a far cry from our previous art lessons. I am really thankful and blessed to have found this Art school and the teachers.

If you have tried any of the techniques and find that it works, do post them on my page or email them to me. I will definitely add them to the blog. Together, we can go far 🙂

5 thoughts on “Artsy tips for parents who are not so artsy like me: 6 simple tips to do at home

Leave a Reply

