Tool-Calming Bottle

C’s meltdown is normally filled with crying, screaming and hitting. I wanted to find a way to minimise the meltdowns or at least have him being able to self-regulate himself to calm down after a while.

I did a search on Google and came upon a few interesting sites.

According to MamaOT, we should introduce the bottle before he is ever upset. I decided to try making the bottle first (and to make it a child-friendly activity), then perhaps if C buys in the idea, I will get him involved to make a bottle with his favourite colour, and we can call it “HIS calming bottle”.

Materials needed (I bought everything I needed from the local bookstore):

One bottle 150ml clear glue One bottle 50ml (blue) glitter glue One small bottle of (blue) glitter Two empty 500ml bottles (You only need one. I just drank another one just in case I fumble on making the bottle the first time, I will have another on standby) Super glue (I like the really small ones so I can finish using one each time and not worry about C opening or using it as the unused portion should be kept in the fridge)

  • One bottle 150ml clear glue
    One bottle 50ml (blue) glitter glue
    One small bottle of (blue) glitter
    Two empty 500ml bottles (You only need one. I just drank another one just in case I fumble on making the bottle the first time, I will have another on standby)
    Super glue (I like the really small ones so I can finish using one each time and not worry about C opening or using it as the unused portion should be kept in the fridge)

Step one: Pour the glitter glue into the empty bottle
Step one: Pour the glitter glue into the empty bottle
Step two: Pour the clear glue into the bottle. Mix the mixture with a chopstick or any long stick.
Step two: Pour the clear glue into the bottle. Mix the mixture with a chopstick or any long stick.
Step three: Pour the glitter into the bottle. I use a funnel to prevent the glitter from spilling out.
Step three: Pour the glitter into the bottle. I use a funnel to prevent the glitter from spilling out.
Step four: Mix the mixture Step five: Add in three-quarter cup of hot water with half cup of cool water (this ensures that the glue can combine with the water)
Step four: Mix the mixture
Step five: Add in three-quarter cup of hot water with half cup of cool water (this ensures that the glue can combine with the water)
Step six: I sealed the bottle with the super glue
Step six: I sealed the bottle with the super glue
Completed bottle
Completed bottle when the glitter has settled down

Reflection

I think that I have added in too much clear glue as it takes up to 15 mins for the glitter to settle and I feel that it doesn’t look as nice as the ones done by ‘InLieuofSchool’ and ‘MyCrazyBlessedLife’. I will show C the completed tool later and see if he’s keen in making it. If yes, I’ll probably reduce the amount of clear glue I will add into the bottle for his calming bottle. Have you done one before? Maybe you can tell me how to make it better. Do leave a comment below.

Cheers,

A

Leave a Reply

