How to Teach Social Language Part 3 -Increasing General Knowledge #1

According to C’s speech therapist, while he has strong visual memory and remembers a lot of things, he is unable to use them to converse with others. The first step she recommends to aid this is for us to deliberately converse with him through various topics.

Since we were in Malaysia, I wanted to bring minimal tools and resources as possible. Using the same materials for ‘This is… it’s a…“, I got C to select three fruits and placed them in the sequence (using ordinal numbers) he would like to talk about them.

Materials used for Let's talk 'This is a...'
Materials used for Let’s talk ‘This is a…’

I used the mega blocks as visual cues for him on the sequence for the fruit.
I used the mega blocks as visual cues for him on the sequence for the fruit.
C came up with the four sentences. I wrote them down. He has to verbalize all of them on his own at the end of the fourth sentence. Part of my way to make him remember.
C came up with the four sentences. I wrote them down. He has to verbalize all of them on his own at the end of the fourth sentence. Part of my way to make him remember.
C came up with the first two sentences and I helped him out with the last two sentences.
C came up with the first two sentences and I helped him out with the last two sentences.
C came up with this on his own. I love the third sentence. I think it's hilarious. I asked C if grapes should be sweet and he replied,
C came up with this on his own. I love the third sentence. I think it’s hilarious. I asked C if grapes should be sweet and he replied, “No, it’s salty.” I wonder what kind of grapes have he been eating.

Reflection

It’s the first time I’m trying out conversations with C. I think it’s great that he tries very hard to come up with the four sentences. I know it’s a long way to him being able to converse freely and confidently but his perseverance just makes me want to try harder to help him achieve it.

Other social language related activities that we have done:

How to Teach Social Language Part 2-“It’s a…”, “This is a…”, “I have a…”

How to Teach Social Language Part 3 -Increasing General Knowledge #2 ‘Fill-in-the-blanks’ & Teaching Calendar

How to Teach Social Language Part 3 – Increasing General Knowledge #3 using listening

How to Teach Social Language Part 4 – Sequencing ‘Before and After’

How to Teach Social Language Part 5 – Use Listening to Teach Sequence

How to Teach Social Language Part 6 – Simple Word Association

How to Teach Social Language Part 7 – Finding out about someone #1

How to Teach Social Language Part 8 – Finding out about someone #2

5 thoughts on “How to Teach Social Language Part 3 -Increasing General Knowledge #1

Leave a Reply

